An ironing fail & 4 t-shirt scarf tutorials

Let me tell you a little story

 I don’t know if anyone has told you, but vacationing at a hotel is supposed to be simple, relaxing and most of all easy. Ha, tell that to the iron I met! You know that dreaded feeling when you know you’ve ruined something, but you just don’t want to look? Oh, but I looked. While ironing my beloved pink shirt on vacation a couple summers ago, I ironed (or burned) a hole into it.Ironing Fail!

Let’s just say I wasn’t happy. I loved that shirt and then it tragically met that awful iron and it’s doom. Thankfully this story ends well, because I was able to find the exact same shirt at Target not long after. And it was on clearance too! Score!

 

You might be thinking “what does this story have to do with a DIY project?”. Well it has everything to do with that burnt pink shirt and the scarf I made out of it. Keep reading!

 

What you will need for any scarf tutorial-

DIY T-Shirt Scarf

2-3 shirts, scissors, (not pictured) a ruler, needle and thread (or a sewing machine)

-4 awesome tutorials for t-shirt scarf making-

Braided scarf from Ann Le {Anneorshine} on YouTube

T-shirt scarf from My Third True Love

3 t-shirt scarf ideas from Studio 5

Infinity necklace from Better Homes and Gardens

I followed the infinity necklace tutorial from Better Homes and Gardens and below is the finished project.

DIY T-Shirt Scarf

  I hope you enjoy some creative time while making your old t-shirts like new.

 Happy crafting!

AshleySignature

-I would love to see your creations when you’re finished! You can post to my Facebook page- A Lovely Life or tag me on Instagram- @alovelylifeblog. Can’t wait to see what you make!

4 thoughts on “An ironing fail & 4 t-shirt scarf tutorials

  1. Love your new blog post!! Lol made me laugh and sad for your shirt at the same time haha I’m gonna try that tutorial soon! Those scarves are adorable!!!!

Leave a Reply

