Conquering Your Fear

 

Conquering Your Fear | A Lovely Life Blog

I’m tired of the overwhelming pit in my stomach that rises to meet my throat. I’m tired of being on an up and down emotional roller coaster that makes me question who I am, what I’m doing and who I’m going to be. I’m SO tired of feeling paralyzed in my own skin. I’m just plain tired of fear having a grip on my life.

What about you? Are you tired? Tired enough to be free?

I’ve  dealt with fear for a long time. Honestly, it has been a part of everything I do. Most decisions, moments and life altering plans were made with fear in my mind. Sad, huh? You know what’s scary about it though? I don’t even know fear has raised it’s ugly head most times. For me, fear has disguised its self as protection, understanding, power, control, etc., but what’s really saddening about this is: I rarely remember the things that fear is not- peaceful, joy-filled, forgiving, loving, unafraid of the future, adventuress, etc. So truthfully, I’ve been living life without most of these life giving attributes and that breaks my heart.

I’m just wondering if there is anyone else out there who might also be living in this place of fear? Would you journey with me?

Have you ever thought “why am I always living in fear?”? Yep, me too!

Personally, I think a lot of it has to do with the feeling of being bound by fear in our lives. I know I’m not the only one who has felt like “this must be how my life will always be, so I just need to suffer through it”. The word bound means: something that limits or restrains (Merriam-Webster Dictionary). That’s exactly what fear does to us- it limits our faith and hope and even restrains our God-given dreams. And you know what? The enemy wants us to live like that and he loves it when we squirm under the pressure of fear. But that doesn’t have to be the end!

2 Timothy 1:7 says- For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. (NKJV)

See right there, God did not give us a spirit of fear. How awesome is that?! We were never meant to live in fear, but live a life of power, love and soundness of mind.

I don’t know about you, but I want to live a life that is fearless! Do you know what that kind of life requires of you and I? It requires us to do things that makes us afraid; to face our fears. I’m ready to face my fears, are you?


Welcome to the No Fear Challenge!

What this challenge will require you to do-

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. -1 Peter 5:7 (NIV)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. -Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

Now, write out every fear you might have. Then do them!

If your schedule allows- conquer 1 fear a week.

Take the challenge a step further– Journal about it and tell someone, so they can keep you accountable.

(No Fear Challenge Printable)

Through this challenge, you will see that the things that once struck fear in your heart, were just little obstacles keeping you from living the fearless life God intended you to live.

Psalm 34:4 says- I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. (NIV). So, dear friend, take this challenge with me and see for yourself that He is faithful and will deliver you from all your fears.

AshleySignature

Comment below: How are you going to conquer your fears? You can email me as well at- alovelylifeblog@yahoo.com

Photo Credit: Unsplash

2 thoughts on “Conquering Your Fear

  1. I’ve always been a worrier. It started primarily in Jr. high. My life truly changed when I meditated on Philippians 4:8 and memorized many different verses. Thank you for this post!!! What a great challenge to start:)

    • I can definitely say my issue with fear started around that time as well. And Philippians is a great verse to meditate on! :) You’re so welcome Sierra! Thank you for commenting! :)

Leave a Reply

